Skip to content

Time-Based Art – MFA

Welcome to Time-Based Art

The Time-Based Art program focuses on a contemporary arts studio practice and the development of creative strategies that utilize interdisciplinary approaches.

The three-year MFA encourages critical research and investigation into contemporary issues informing Time-Based Art and can include work that spans many areas including but not limited to animation, creative coding, film/cinema, performance, physical computing, sound, transmedia storytelling and/or video. Students will make lasting connections between traditional and emerging practices, collaborative modes of expression and alternative production methods. Our students are encouraged to engage with departments outside of the School of Art such as Music, Theater, Computer Science, English and others.

The first two years of study includes coursework within Time-Based Art and electives in the School of Art and across the University. In the third year of study, students are responsible for developing, executing and defending a project of their own design. Along with other School of Art MFA candidates, these projects culminate in an exhibit and/or presentation at either the School of Art’s Ewing Gallery or UT Downtown Gallery.

The School of Art is a vibrant studio community offering a host of facilities for use by graduate students throughout the school. Students have access to individual studio space and opportunities to show their work at several local galleries including Gallery 1010, the student art gallery in downtown Knoxville.

Applicants will be considered who possess a BFA or other undergraduate degrees in time-based media or any related disciplines and are willing to commit to a program of integrated studies. For more information on the application process, including Graduate Assistantships and financial assistance, please visit the Graduate section of the School of Art website.

For specific inquiries into the Time-Based Art Program, please contact Deborah Shmerler.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.