The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Incoming Freshman Scholarship

The School of Art offers the following opportunities for freshmen choosing to enroll in the School of Art.

Award Available for 2016:
up to $2000 (may be divided).
Online Application: Available here
DEADLINE: Monday, March 28, 2016, by 5:00pm


The School of Art Scholarship Committee awards scholarships for incoming Freshman students to the University of Tennessee School of Art.

Applicants are required to be accepted to the University of Tennessee as full-time students enrolled in the School of Art for the entire 2015-2016 academic school year. Scholarship monies will be divided between the Fall and Spring semester. All applicants must have a UT Net ID in order to submit an application.

If you have questions, contact the Scholarship Committee chairperson, John Powers,, 865.974.3225


The online application for the Incoming Freshman Scholarship will require the following information (please have it prepared when you log-in to apply as you are not able to save your application to complete at a later date):

  • Contact information
  • Cumulative GPA
  • High school information
  • Degree intention
  • Cover letter that introduces you to the Scholarship committee, and includes your intentions for coming to the University of Tennessee to study at the School of Art.
  • MAX of 10 digital images: must be smaller than 400kb in file size or they will not be able to be uploaded. Please ensure that the images are RGB and use a resolution of 72dpi and are either a jpeg or png file. After each image you will need to provide a brief description of what your ideas were behind making the work. The School of Art is looking for work that indicates who you are as an artist, art historian, or designer. Descriptions are limited to 80 words.
  • Transcript acknowledgement - you will be asked to supply the date you requested your official transcript be sent from your high school.

Transcripts are required by the date indicated on the application. All transcripts should be sent to:

Scholarship Committee
The University of Tennessee
School of Art
1715 Volunteer Boulevard
Knoxville, TN 37996-2410


2015: Andrew Gordon | Kelly Moore

2014: Ellen Nikbakht | Ashley Hurst

2013: Joseph Barbour | Olivia Crawford

2012: Youn Lee | Reagan Long

2011: Lauryn Darby | Laura Patterson | Katie Morgan | Nicolas Tamas

2010: Rachel Clagett | Robert Kyle

2009: Sam Brinkley | Ellis Greer | Shelby Stults | Katherine Turnball


The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System